• Home
  • People
  • Advisory Board

Advisory Board Charter and By-Laws

KUAE Advisory Board Charter (pdf)
KUAE Advisory Board By-Laws (pdf)

Honorary Advisory Board Members

Maj. Gen. Joe Engle
Technical Consultant
US Air Force (Retired)
Houston, TX

Alan R. Mulally
Former CEO
Ford Motor Co.
Dearborn, MI

Advisory Board Members

Wes Ryan - Board Chair (*2020)
Manager, New Technology & UAS Certification
Small Airplane Directorate
Kansas City, MO

Dr. Bob Stuever - Vice Chair (*2021)
Wichita, KS

Dr. Willem Anemaat (*2020)
Lawrence, KS

Ed DiGirolamo (*2022)
Sr. Chief Engineer - Fixed Wing Mission Area Special Operations Forces
Global Logistics Support Services
Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company

Bill Donovan (*2022)
Director of Engineering
Aerovironment Midwest Innovation Center

Dave Dwyer (*2020)
Technical Manager
Honeywell International Aerospace Organization

Steve Ericson (*2022)
Director of Advanced Design Engineering
The Space Ship Company
Mojave, CA

Dr. Elizabeth Gregory (*2020)
Research Engineer
NASA Langley Research Center
Hampton, VA

Charlie Guthrie (*2020)
Insitu (Retired) - Senior Vice President & CTO
White Salmon, WA

Dr. Bruce Holmes (*2021)
Vice President, Digital Aviation
SmartSky Networks, LLC
NASA (Retired)
Williamsburg, VA

Jerry Jenks (Emeritus, *2022)
Supplier Program Manager, Weapons Systems
Boeing Co. (Retired)
Lawrence, KS

Dr. Leland Johnson (Emeritus, *2022)
Chief Scientist (Retired)
Wichita, KS

Dr. Vicki Johnson (*2022)
Lead, Strategy & Portfolio Management
Core Structures Engineering & Technology
Spirit AeroSystems
Wichita, KS

Richard Kovich (Emeritus, *2022)
Section Chief, Learjet Flight Sciences
Wichita, KS

Sarah Elizabeth McCandless (*2020),
Navigation Engineer
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA

Dr. Mike Myers (*2021)
Associate Professor
Oregon Institute of Technology
Wilsonville, OR

Marv Nuss (*2020)
NuSS Sustainment Solutions
FAA (Retired)
Shawnee, KS

John Pilla (*2020)
Sr. VP/GM Airbus Programs
Spirit AeroSystems
Wichita, KS

Perry N. Rea (*2021)
Chief Engineer, New Airplane Studies
Seattle, WA

John Remen (*2021)
Wright Patterson AFB, OH

Luke Thompson (*2022)
Vice President - Engineering and Advanced Development
Sierra Nevada Corporation
Centennial, CO

Aaron Tobias (*2022)
Manager/Chief Pilot
Engineering Flight Test
Textron Aviation
Wichita, KS

Dr. Marco Villa (*2020)
Tyvak Nano-Satellite Systems INC.
President and COO
Los Angeles, CA

Grant Wittenborn (*2022)
Senior Flight Test Pilot
Garmin International
Olathe, KS

Kyle Wetzel (*2020)
Wind Energy Consultant
Lawrence, KS


*Terms expire by the end of the year indicated

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
Department Events

Connect with KU Aerospace Engineering


KU Today
Countdown to