• Home
  • KUAE Students Awarded Three Individual and Team AIAA Awards

KUAE Students Awarded Three Individual and Team AIAA Awards

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

On September 17, the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Foundation announced the winners of its 2018-2019 Design Competitions.

“AIAA’s Design Competitions are more than winning a prize—they help students solve real-life problems and prepare them to make a difference in the aerospace community,” said Dan Dumbacher, AIAA executive director. “On behalf of AIAA, I congratulate them for a job well done!”

The competitions asked AIAA students to respond to various requests for proposal outlining a design problem that required specialized, technical solutions.

Two individuals and one team from KUAE secured accolades:

Nathan Simon, 2nd Place Undergraduate Individual Aircraft; (Dr. R. Barrett-Gonzalez, faculty advisor.)

Jacob Rogers, 3rd Place Undergraduate Individual Aircraft; Jacob Rogers; (Dr. R. Barrett-Gonzalez, faculty advisor.)

Jacksen Goyer, Tim Aiken Anthony Bendure, Blake Hartwell, Ryan Niday, Jameson Poth, Charles Richmond 3rd Place Graduate Team Engine Design (Dr. Saeed Farokhi and Dr. Ray Taghavi, faculty advisors)

These students continue a tradition of excellence in design at the University of Kansas and represent the dedication, imagination, and innovation that characterizes KUAE students. For more information about the competition, please follow this link: https://www.aiaa.org/home/news/news/2019/09/17/aiaa-announces-student-de...


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
Department Events

Connect with KU Aerospace Engineering


KU Today
Countdown to